Welcome to B’Waves 2021 (June 16-18)

This workshop focuses on various aspects of wave breaking, with accent on free surface waves. The main topics are wave breaking in coastal regions, wave breaking in deep water. Other topics covered involve several aspects of wave propagation which are relevant for  the dynamics or the wave breaking, as well as and breaking of internal and interfacial waves. The workshop brings together researchers using a variety of techniques: field measurements, laboratory experiments, numerical approximations, and mathematical modelling.

The B’Waves series started with a 2014 workshop aiming at serving as a platform for interactive exchange between scientists. Since its inception, the workshop has historically provided three types of talks. Keynote talks are long presentation allowing an invited speaker to cover in depth a selected topic. Invited talks are shorter compared to keynotes, but also involve recognized major contributions in the field of breaking waves. Contributed talks allow to present new ideas and recent results. However, the specific characteristic of the B’Waves workshops  is to leave ample space to round table discussions to highlight the limitations of the current knowledge and techniques, and to identify possible avenues for research.

The 2021 virtual edition of B’Waves is the fourth instalment  of the series. Due to the covid crisis it is organized in a virtual format, with a reduced program  only featuring short invited talks, and space for discussion and brainstorming.

Links to the previous editions:

B’Waves 2018 in Marseille

B’Waves 2016 in Bergen

B’Waves 2014 in Bordeaux

Scientific Committee

Michel Benoit,  Ecole Centrale Marseille (France)

Philippe Bonneton, CNRS Université de Bordeaux (France)

Maurizio Brocchini, Università Politecnica delle Marche (Italy)

Magda Carr, Newcastle University (UK)

Stéfan Grilli, University of Rhode Island (USA)

Alessandro Iafrati,  Institute of Marine Engineering (Italy)

Pierre Lubin, Université de Bordeaux (France)

Atle Jensen, University of Oslo (Norway)

Olivier Kimmoun, Ecole Centrale Marseille (France)

James T. JR Kirby, University of Delaware (USA)

Fabrice Veron, University of Delaware (USA)


Henrik Kalisch,  University of Bergen (Norway)

Mario Ricchiuto, Inria (France)


Comments are closed.